my new dawn

connection with past

Posted on: November 10, 2012

 

i just finished watching the movie “Dances With Wolves” – a movie I love so much

and have watched many times before

 

i am always so moved by the end of the film and cannot help but shed some tears every time

 

after today’s viewing, I wanted to share on my blog how the movie reminded me

just how fortunate I am to share some small connections

with the Native Americans

 

For one , since i was a child, i have known from my mother that I share some

Lenape Indian blood from her father’s side

 

And two, every morning I begin my day with a cup of herbal tea that is believed

to have originated from the Ojibwa Indians –

 

a tea that is now more commonly known as Essiac

 

I have read that the Ojibwas were originally located in an area around the

Great Lakes region of the USA, specifically what is now Salt Ste Marie, Michigan

 

I have also read the Ojibwas had a great medicinal tradition of herbal medicine

handed down from their elders,

 

while also understanding the importance of respect for all forms of life

– human, plant and animal –

 

with the goal of achieving and maintaining harmony

personally and within the social order

 

so we know there was a time in history when medicine was not

a profit driven business as it is today,

 

but rather part of a philosophy and greater understanding of life

and our place in the larger order of things

 

this is the wisdom and gift that connects me to the spirit of their heritage

every morning i awake and drink

their herbal tea

 

and it is from their wisdom that i am personally blessed

by its many great health benefits

 

as with many important things in our so-called ‘modern society’ –

much good from the past has been lost

 

but fortunately truly good things are never

entirely forgotten

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 975 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 168,770 hits
